Daytona Beach city government is a commission-manager form of government, wherein voters elect a City Commission. This City Commission consists of seven members who serve four-year, staggered terms. Six are elected by district, and the Mayor is elected city-wide. The City Commission establishes ordinances and policies for the city, and reviews and approves the city budget annually. The Commission appoints a City Manager, who carries out the will of the Commission and handles day-to-day business transactions.

More on the City Commission Type of Government:
The City Commission is a form of local government where voters elect a small commission, generally of five to seven members. They are typically elected on a plurality-at-large voting basis. These commissioners constitute the legislative body of the city and, as a group, are responsible for taxation, appropriations, ordinances, and other general functions. Sometime, individual commissioners are also assigned executive responsibility for specific areas, such as public works, finance, or public safety. As such, this form of government blends legislative and executive branch functions in the same body. A Mayor may be designated from the group of commissioners, but this is mostly a procedural, or ceremonial designation and typically, does not involve additional powers beyond that exercised by the other commissioners. One of the principal roles of mayor is to chair meetings. Daytona Beachís mayor is elected city-wide, however, and not just appointed by the commission.

Daytona Beach City Commission Meetings:
City Commission meetings are held in the commission chambers, which are located on the second floor of City Hall. There are also numerous public meeting rooms on the first floor of City Hall.

Most municipal administrative offices / departments are located at the City Hall. Departments include the city managerís office, mayor and City Commission, city clerk, city attorney, community development, cultural services, development services, economic development, finance, human resources, permits and licensing, planning and zoning, purchasing, redevelopment, support services, and utility billing.

The Daytona Beach City Hall is located near downtown, on the southeast corner of Ridgewood (U.S. Highway 1) and Orange Avenues. Parking is available in the lot on the south side and in the rear facing Palmetto Avenue.

The following holidays are observed by the Daytona Beach City Hall and offices are closed during these times:
New Yearís Day
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Memorial Day
The 4th of July
Labor Day
Thanksgiving (Thursday and Friday)
Christmas Eve Day and Christmas Day


Daytona Beach Florida .com
©1997-2024 All Rights Reserved